You are here: Home / Destinations / Denmark / All documents - Denmark / Denmark - Public administration

Denmark - Public administration

How is the system organized

After the recent reform made operational in January 2007 the new structure of the public system is composed of 98 municipalities whose responsibilities are:
* Social services: Total responsibility for financing, supply and authority
* Child care
* Primary school, including any special education and special pedagogical assistance for small children
* Special education for adults
* Care for the elderly
* Health care: Preventive treatment, care and rehabilitation that do not take place during hospitalisation, treatment of alcohol and drug abuse, home care, local dental care, special dental care and social psychiatry
* Activation and employment projects for the unemployed without insurance in job centres run jointly with the state (10 pilot municipalities undertake the task for the unemployed with insurance on behalf of the state)
* Integration and language education for immigrants
* Citizen service regarding taxation and collection in cooperation with state tax centres
* Supplies and emergency preparedness
* Nature, environment and planning: E.g. specific authority and citizenrelated tasks, preparation of local plans and plans regarding waste water, waste and water supply
* Local business service and promotion of tourism
* Participation in regional transport companies
* The local road network
* Libraries, schools of music, local sports facilities and culture

When applying for a passport or a driving licence, citizens will be able to submit a photo and an application to the municipality where the documents will be paid for and subsequently delivered. However, production and authority regarding the issue of passports and driving licences still lie with the police.

State Counties

The state counties handle cases concerning separation, divorce, maintenance, child support, parental responsibility/ custody, access, citizenship, names and free legal aid. They also deal with cases concerning residence and work permits relating to the special EU/EEA rules.


The State county of Copenhagen
Borups Allé 177
2400 København NV
Tel: 7256 7000
E-mail: [email protected]
The state county of Sjælland
Dronningensgade 30
4800 Nykøbing F
Tel: 7256 7600
E-mail: [email protected]
The state county of Syddanmark
H.P. Hanssens Gade 42
6200 Aabenraa
Tel: 7256 7900
E-mail: [email protected]
The state county of Midtjylland
St. Blichers Vej 6
Postboks 151
6950 Ringkøbing
Tel: 7256 8300
E-mail: [email protected]
The state county of Nordjylland
Aalborghus Slot
Slotspladsen 1
9000 Aalborg
Tel: 7256 8700
E-mail: [email protected]

Filed under: