You are here: Home / Destinations / Denmark / All documents - Denmark / Denmark - Immigration

Denmark - Immigration

Any issue related to immigration, including visa application, residence and work permit, is handled by the Danish Immigration Service (Udlændingestyrelsen), a department under the Ministry for Refugee, Immigration and Integration Affairs.

Danish Immigration (Udlændingestyrelsen)
Ryesgade 53
2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel: +45 35 36 19 16
E-mail: [email protected]
where you can read about Danish society and about life as a new citizen in Denmark in a number of languages.
The office is open for personal inquiries
Mondays to Fridays 8.30-12.00; Thursday afternoon from 15.30-17.30.

Denmark has different immigration rules for Nordic, EU, EEA, and other nationals.

EU/EEA citizens fall under the rules of free movement of people and service, together with Switzerland citizens. However, there is a special transitional scheme for workers from Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Nordic nationals can stay in Denmark without a working or residence permit.  They get registered when they present themselves at the National Registration Office, in the part of town where they have chosen to live, to register their residence, meaning their new address.

EU and EEA nationals are free to stay in Denmark for a maximum of 3 months (90 days) over a six month period, but for longer stay, they have to obtain a EU/EEA residence permit.


Nordic citizens: all citizens from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden and their associated territories (in particular Åland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland); Scandinavia is sometimes used as synonymous of Nordic countries.

EU citizens: all citizens from Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Cyprus (only the greek-cypriotic area), Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

EEA citizens: all citizens from Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.