You are here: Home / Destinations / Denmark / All documents - Copenhagen / Copenhagen - Municipality system

Copenhagen - Municipality system

How does it work

The local government of the municipality of Copenhagen consists of a governing body, called the City Council, and an administrative branch.

The City Council is made up of seven committees: the Finance Committee and six standing committees, each of which has its own specialised field of responsibility.

The Finance Committee is the overarching committee, which coordinates and plans the total management of the City of Copenhagen. It comprises the chairmen of each of the standing committees plus six other members of the Council. The Finance Committee is chaired by the Lord Mayor.
    The City Council
    The Finance Committee
    The Children and Youth Committee
    The Culture and Leisure Committee
    The Employment and Integration Committee
    The Health and Care Committee
    The Social Services Committee
    The Technical and Environmental Committee

If you wish to know more about the responsibilities of each committee click here.